Day 5: First morning run

goodmorning

My first morning run. It was… difficult.

I want to run in the morning for a couple of reasons. One is that I know morning exercise works well for me. I think better, I work more efficiently, and it fills me with endorphins for the rest of the day.
Another reason is that where I live, it gets dark in the evening pretty fast this time of the year. And I really do not want to run in the dark, at least not yet.

Therefore, I woke up early today… just to discover it was still pretty dark outside. Oh well.
Fortunately, after brushing my teeth and getting dressed, it looked like we finally got enough photons running. The street lights went out. I took the elevator down (don’t judge me! my building has no proper staircase) and set off for my first ever morning run.

I absolutely love the feeling when you break your stroll into a run. What a joy.

And then it got difficult. I struggled to get my breath.
My nose stopped working halfway the route.
I could not understand what was wrong, but I kept going.
I broke into a walk. And then ran again.
After reaching my home again, I looked at the time…

13:44

…and suddenly everything made sense.
I ran way too fast.

I have to learn how to control my pace better.

Distance: 2.1 km
Time:        13:44

Leave a Reply

