Day 12: Go fast, stay warm

geometric

I think I will have to accept that my comfortable pace is about 25-30% faster than the target pace from the training plan. I have received some advice to listen to slower music while I run; I will try that, but maybe it’s alright to just run the way I do? After all, I am feeling good with this pace.

On another note, I noticed something interesting about temperature. Yesterday when coming home from my first dance class (it’s about 15 minutes walk), it felt freezing; the temperature is pretty stable through the day here and in the morning it’s fairly comparable.

Nevertheless, when I get out in the mornings to do my runs, it feels, well, chilly, but not particularly cold. And I know running itself keeps me warm, but even at the very beginning, after leaving the warm, cozy apartment, warmed up and dressed in a thin running jacket… it’s not cold.

It’s like the world is inviting me to run.

 

Some people (including my family) were asking me why didn’t I wait for a warmer time (meaning: spring) to start running? Why did I start at the end of fall, when temperatures are going down, the days are the shortest, and most people want to just dig themselves under blankets with a warm cup of tea and gingerbread cookies?

Well, there are a couple of reasons.

First, I do not believe there is a time which is better or worse for running (or exercise, in general). Sure, it is colder now. From running perspective, it makes it harder to warm up, but I mostly warm up indoors before I get out to run. The cold and short days mainly make it harder to keep discipline and just get the thing going. It’s a test of my own perseverance.

But, at the same time, it gives me a clear purpose, a goal, a schedule to work towards it and a satisfaction from the progression. And, on top of it, a bit of pride that I can do it despite the cold and darkness.

Moreover, I think it’s actually not a bad time to start from a long-term perspective. I do not need much time to run at this moment; the distances are still fairly short and it’s easy to squeeze out the extra half-an hour for a warm-up, run and a shower in the daily routine. But I do plan to run longer in the future, and then make use of the advantage of the longer days and easier times. I think the progression is easiest and fastest at the beginning, so the more demanding conditions balance things out.

Lastly, I think waiting for the perfect day is pointless. There will always be something that could be better, the weather nicer, the temperature warmer, the sleep in the night better, the body more rested… you name it. Actually, most of these things are minor disturbances or can be easily solved (cold? wear an extra layer!).

The perfect day might never come, but when it does, I will enjoy it and celebrate it.
With a run.

Distance: 2.1 km
Time:       14:02

3 comments

  1. chris · December 2, 2014

    I like! Approve! Maybe colder is nicer than too warm

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Brittany · December 2, 2014

    I like your thoughts on weather and running. I have struggled to get outside to run and have been switching things up lately with indoor workouts. Thankfully I own a treadmill and set it to an incline to somewhat resemble outdoor running hahaa. I’m a wuss, but warming up inside is a great idea.

    Liked by 1 person

    • aliceruns · December 2, 2014

      I think that if I had an option to run on a treadmill, I’d be more of a wuss as well! Most important is to keep going, though.

      Like

Leave a Reply

