Day 26: The Challenge – 5k

5k

What a joy.

When I first saw that I was to run 5k directly in this week, I was puzzled and a bit overwhelmed. I expected some preparations, some gradual increase from 3k, but no: my training plan told me to directly start running 5k. So I did.

 

It was challenging. This was my first run alone after MRB went back home. It was cold and I stepped into a puddle, getting my toes wet. I tried to start real slow to save my energy, but going slow somehow gave me pain in the Achilles tendon. I took two short walking breaks to prevent fatigue.

What surprised me the most was the automatic, stable pace which my body employed after some time. It was a state close to a meditation; music in my ears, completely automatic, stable rhythm of my breath and movement, just focusing on how my body works on its own. It was a remarkable and pleasant feeling, and I hope it will stay with me in the future runs.

Funny thing, I met my boss on her bike while running; she was going home from work. I wonder what she thought about seeing me run. Maybe she will tell me on our next meeting.

I am extremely proud of getting the 5k distance done for my first time. Of course I still need to work on the speed, but, let’s face it – this was a comfortable run, and this pace is nothing bad. In all honesty, I expected slower.

After the run, I went to see some friends and have a dinner together – hence the post comes today, not yesterday. We had a great time, and some wine. It’s always great to see these folks.

Distance: 5.2km
Time:       38:39

8 comments

  1. chris · December 17, 2014

    Very nicely and well done, YRB is proud of you! *applause*

    Even though it’s about the distance so far and not about the time, the pace is very nice too. I’d have died. :D

    My turn next week for that 5k challenge!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. BabetaRuns · December 17, 2014

    Yay! Congrats and well done!!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: Day 28: Worst. Run. Ever. | Alice runs!
  4. Pingback: Day 30: The Wind! | Alice runs!
  5. Pingback: Day 48: Getting tired? | Alice runs!
  6. Pingback: Days 144-150: Halfway done! | Alice runs!

Leave a Reply

