Day 28: Worst. Run. Ever.

worstrunever

Where is my running-nirvana, my steady breath, my joy and the feelings of flying that accompanied me recently?
I thought that, after getting the 5k two days ago, things will be getting easier from now on. Well, NOPE. Actually, quite the contrary.

 

My legs felt like lead, the steps were heavy and the fatigue creeping in my muscles with every single step reminded me I haven’t slept properly in about a week. There was a fog, a drizzle, and my breath turned into a wheezing, whimpering reminder that I have a long way to go still. I struggled to keep my pace and had to walk a couple of times. At times I felt like swaying. Still, my overall time was faster than last time. How is that possible?

There were puddles, mud and angry bikers disapproving of me crossing their bike path. There were families with small children occupying the whole width of the pavement.

It was so difficult. I hope it gets better, otherwise I am in no way getting to be able to run a 5k in under 30 minutes in February.
I have this urge to get out and run and prove to myself that I can do it again, that it will be better, and I just need another chance. But I know I have to rest now. Another attempt on Saturday.

Distance: 5.2 km
Time:       37:11

9 comments

  1. chris · December 18, 2014

    I miss a very important, short statement of you. Where is the “But I did it anyway! No matter how hard it was!” ? It was a hard one but you still did it and that’s the most important point.

    Till february there is quite some time, runs and kilometers to run still, not even on half of the running plan yet. I have no doubts that you won’t be able todo it. I will have todo it also somehow, you can do it also. You will have it easier even.

    Keep up!
    YRB

    Liked by 1 person

  2. BabetaRuns · December 18, 2014

    Every time I have a shitty run I tell myself… Not all runs can be great, without some bad ones there would be no great, just mediocre!

    Btw. I had a shitty run yesterday as well. Maybe something was in the air!

    And here’s to a better tomorrow!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • chris · December 18, 2014

      Welcome in the club, I also had a shitty run yesterday. Inclusive of running (dark..) into a 3m x 2m 20cm deep deep puddle.

      Liked by 2 people

      • BabetaRuns · December 18, 2014

        I’m going running in a bit… So we shall see if today is better :)

        Liked by 1 person

      • aliceruns · December 18, 2014

        I hope it will be better! Enjoy your run!

        Like

      • BabetaRuns · December 18, 2014

        I’m back! And today it was good :)

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: Day 30: The Wind! | Alice runs!
  4. my26pointtwo · December 28, 2014

    I love these runs! I say love, I of course mean hate with a passion, but they do at least remind us how good we have it the rest of the time! Funny how they also seem to turn out faster than we expected.

    Liked by 2 people

    • aliceruns · December 28, 2014

      I think you are the very first person ever to say that! But you make a very valid point. They make us appreciate the good ones properly.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

