Day 50: Halfway done

There is one thing which am I extremely proud of in my running adventure. And that is not the times, the paces, the distances or the routes. Surely, these things are important and fill me with joy. But the one thing that, above all, makes me satisfied, is my training plan. And, more importantly, how I keep sticking to it.

Yesterday I left… well, let’s not get into details about that. It was bad enough that I was in no shape of writing this post last night. Before I was ready to get out and pound the pavement, it was already dark. And raining. And winds over 30km/h (yup, that’s over 18 mph). Fortunately, it was not too cold. I changed into running clothes and checked the weather, and sat there for almost an hour waiting for the rain to get a little bit less annoying. Of course I got hungry, but running on a full stomach is not too smart.

So, out I went, into the darkness, into the wind and rain, and I said to myself:

“You can do it.
Of course you can find somethings to excuse yourself from doing it.
Of course you can walk half of the distance and still get it done.
Of course you can stop after 3km if you do not feel like continuing.
But that’s just because you’re lazy. You know you can run that 5k and you will run that 5k even if you have to crawl on your eyelashes, because even when the whole world goes into pieces and your legs hurt and your soul cries, 5k is 5k and you ran it before and the only thing stopping you from doing it again is yourself.”

It was a poor run. I was hungry. I started off too fast and had to walk, three times. After the first km, I told myself, no, not now, you can do at least 2km non stop. And I did. I walked 2 more times after 3rd and 4th km. I tried to concentrate heavily on my body: the posture, the stride, the way I use my feet, the way I swing my arms. And I finished with a nice time, nevertheless (6:44 min/km).

So yes, I stick to my plan. No matter how bad I feel or how poor the weather, I keep pushing myself to get all the runs done. I passed the halfway point this week and even though some runs got rescheduled, I did not miss a single one so far. Yay me.

Distance: 5.3km (+3.4 walking)
Time:       35:32

5 comments

  1. chris · January 10, 2015

    Welcome into the halfway club, yay! I feel nowhere like half ready though.

    Knowing abit more how you were, it’s very nice that you were sticking to the plan and did the run. Be proud! I am.

    You said it was a poor run. I think the nice time makes it up for everything, turning a poor run into a “hey.. that was hard, but look at this nice time”-run. :)

    Yay you! Yay me! Yay both of us for sticking to the plans and joining the halfway club. The 2nd half waits now, let’s do it!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Day 52: The last 5k (for now) | Alice runs!
  3. Pingback: Day 56: Observing, improving | Alice runs!
  4. Pingback: Day 72: I think I’m ready | Alice runs!
  5. Pingback: Day 101: Back to running! kind of…. | Alice runs!

Leave a Reply

