Day 52: The last 5k (for now)

day52

Being a beginner at anything has some advantages. As a beginning runner, for me each run is an opportunity for an accomplishment. Today, my distance training finished and next week my training plan will enter a new phase, in which I am supposed to work on speed. To celebrate it, or maybe to prove a point to myself, I decided that this will be the time when I run the 5k continuously, with no walking breaks.

It sounded easier than it was, but in the moments of weakness I remembered: me and MRB did the continous 3k together before, and after all this training, I should be perfectly capable of doing the same with 5k.

I can’t say it was easy. The wind was so strong, sometimes I felt like I was not moving at all. Nevertheless, I pushed through the whole distance, and I was rewarded with my fastest pace so far. I am slowly starting to believe in my running abilities.

Distance: 5.1km
Time:       33:32

5 comments

  1. chris · January 11, 2015

    Running 5km through and an awesome pace, super well done. Proud!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Brittany · January 12, 2015

    WAY TO GO!! Pushing through the mental block of thinking you can’t is a huge step forward.

    Liked by 1 person

    • aliceruns · January 12, 2015

      Yes, I am extremely happy for doing that! Thank you (:

      Like

  3. So... · January 12, 2015

    Nothing to beat the euphoria of the 5k. Longer distances and speed are a natural progression.

    Liked by 1 person

    • aliceruns · January 12, 2015

      Thank you! I certainly hope for progression later on, but I am also very happy with what I can already do.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

