Day 56: Observing, improving

For the last two weeks, when I run with no music, I have been observing my body and the way I run. Slowly, I am seeing where and how can I improve my running form.

I am suspecting the tension I feel in my Achilles tendon at slower paces comes from the fact that I am not unloading it fully, as my feet do not lift off as high as it is advised. I was trying to correct it (nothing too drastic, just a little bit) and it helped. And it did seem like I ran faster in those intervals when I remembered to correct for this; however, it was also quite tiresome and my overall pace did not change.

Speaking of pace, my training plan apparently thinks I am a way better runner than I actually am, and wants to adjust to fit my actual level. On the one hand, that feels like a good thing, but on the other, the goal pace it would require me to run in less than a month would be under 5 min/km – and I have never even went below 6.

AdjustPlan

I still haven’t decided if I want to adjust my plan or not, but 5k under 25 minutes feels completely unrealistic to me at this moment.

Fun thing, I stepped into exactly the same puddle as last run. Silly me. And I was very lucky with the weather – it was raining all day, and I got the “dry” window for my run. It started to rain again the very moment I reached my home and finished.

There are still so many people running around here! It’s like an epidemic!
I don’t complain – I think that’s great. Even though not all of them will still be running in a couple of weeks, I am glad people at least try. And certainly at least some of them might catch the running bug, right?

Distance: 3.1km
Time:       19:45

4 comments

  1. chris · January 16, 2015

    Nice time you run today also and I agree about the plan. Better to keep going like you did now and adjust for further plans.

    What a luckly time window you found to run, cool.

    Keep going!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. BabetaRuns · January 16, 2015

    OMG! I have never managed to run 5k under 25. The tastes I have done 5k so far is 26:08 and I was knackered :)

    Liked by 1 person

    • aliceruns · January 16, 2015

      Exactly! I have no idea who makes these predictions but they seem very unrealistic. Maybe it’s for olympic athletes?

      Like

      • BabetaRuns · January 16, 2015

        Haha! I guess it’s a computer… Well, let me know when you do it! :)

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

