Day 66: Thank God for the bike paths

Wow. Just wow.

So, I’ve been through some stress recently, partly due to an extremely disappointing delivery service by DHL. Seriously, how is that company still in the parcels business with their performance?
If you ever have to send something, I would recommend anything – everything, even pigeons – over DHL.
This and some other stuff kept me up all night between Friday and Saturday and I had a poor one last night, too. You can imagine I didn’t hold much hope for the 4k run today, even after the amazing 3k last time.

And then this happened:

wpid-screenshot_2015-01-25-20-08-292.jpg.jpeg

 

The run today was different in a way that, for the first time, I ran on the bike paths.
It snowed heavily during my sleepless Friday/Saturday night, and with plus temperatures today, the pavements were covered with slippery, wet slush in many places. I didn’t want to take chances and simply occupied part of the bike path. God bless the Netherlands and their abundance of bike paths! If not for them, I guess I’d need to run directly on the street, and that’s something I try to avoid.

Ok, I admit, I was pushing a little bit, because I simply felt like it, but I totally, completely didn’t expect I ran that fast. Where did this come from? Was it the improved running form? Or simply me getting better? I didn’t know I had this in me, and I don’t know for how long it will stay with me, but hey, I am thankful for and proud of each and every little achievement.

Distance: 4.1km
Time:       23:18

4 comments

  1. chris · January 25, 2015

    That’s an absolutely, crazy, stunning time. Wow, just wow!

    Don’t push too hard anymore now till the R-Day. I don’t have any doubt you can’t do it.

    Keep up. Proud big time of todays run (and yea abit jelly too) :-)

    Liked by 1 person

    • aliceruns · January 25, 2015

      Don’t be jealous! That’s totally pointless. Just focus on improving to get where you want to be!

      Like

      • chris · January 25, 2015

        Only a little bit :>

        Like

  2. David Faust · January 25, 2015

    Great stuff. You must be getting better! :)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

