Knee update

It is not yet fully recovered, so I had no runs to report recently… however, the pain while bending the knee is almost gone and I have no pain or discomfort from loading the joint. Two days ago or so it turned blue, so it is sensitive to touch in the spots where the haematoma is. Other than that, it is doing better, only feeling it a bit while walking the stairs.

Tonight I felt adventurous enough to wear my protection pads (dancing classes have a spring break till March) and go for yoga and a short 2.2km run afterwards. I had some small discomfort during the yoga, but nothing that stopped me or made any exercise uncomfortable.
During the run, I started slow and easy and after 1km, when my knee still felt good, I sped up and finished the second km in just under 6 minutes/km. I do feel my knee now, though. It is not swollen, just… sensitive. Not sure what to think about it. But the run felt so great.
I miss running so much!

Distance: 2.2km
Time: 8 + 6 minutes

7 comments

  1. chris · February 24, 2015

    Very nice. Listen to your knee now and see how it will be.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. runsonsyrup · February 24, 2015

    Take care of that knee! A little rest now is way better than years of pain later.

    Liked by 1 person

    • aliceruns · February 24, 2015

      Of course it is! It is just so hard to sit on my ass and do nothing…

      Like

  3. runsaltrun · February 24, 2015

    That’s so great that you are feeling better! It sounds like you are taking it easy and really taking cues from how you feel. SO smart. I hope you’re back to 100% soon. I know how it feels to miss running so much!

    Liked by 1 person

    • aliceruns · February 24, 2015

      Thank you Salt, I hope so, too! On some level, we all know that injuries come sooner or later, to all of us, yet of course everyone hopes they will be an exception. I am guilty of that, big time.

      Like

  4. BabetaRuns · February 24, 2015

    Oh no! Hope it gets better soon!
    I’m fighting with some sort of flu mutation and haven’t run for over a week now and, according, to the doctor won’t run for at least two weeks. Bummer! And I have two half marathons in a month. Aaa!

    Liked by 1 person

    • aliceruns · February 25, 2015

      Oh dear! That sucks. I hope you will recover in time and be able to run the races. Sending warm prayers ~ ~ ~

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

