Day 103: Running with the Girls

Every Tuesday in my city two wonderful women organise a free running event open for girls only. There is no basic level required and everyone is welcome to join, as long as they want to run and are female. This week I decided to join them and it was really cool!

10410963_576414192495995_7864237506585281168_n

There’s me in this picture, on the left!

 

We met at the local park – actually, the same I’ve been running through last Sunday – and, after an easy 400m group run (a zerg of running girls, yay!) and a short warm-up, we were given three options for the run that evening. In 35 minutes, we were supposed to make as many rounds as we could of a track just short of 800m, either at a steady pace, alternating intervals of fast and comfortable pace, or moving the most of the round at the fast pace with a short break at an easy pace. I chose the middle option and squeezed 4 fast rounds with 3 slower rounds in between in about 32 minutes total, what is a pretty damn good result for me – that’s over 5km! Afterwards we done squats, lounges and jumping jacks for 5 minutes and zerged back to the meeting point, from where I went home.

It was really cold, and a bit raining. Actually, it was so cold that halfway on my way from home to the meeting spot I decided to run the remaining part just to keep myself warm, what gave me an extra 800m of running, for a total of about 7km that evening. Even though it wasn’t a constant 7km run, it still yields the longest run I have made so far.

After coming home I did the day 2 of Yoga with Adriene. Initially I planned to do one video per day, but I have my regular yoga classes, so I changed it. I will be practising with Adriene on the days when I do not go to a yoga class, I think mostly to stretch after my runs. My knee is still a bit funky, so I don’t dare to start my 10k training plan as of yet…

Distance: ~7km
Time:        great!

Have you ever ran in an ad-hoc organised group training? Did you enjoy it?

4 comments

  1. chris · March 5, 2015

    Very good and well done, patience with the knee.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. runsaltrun · March 6, 2015

    Fantastic run!
    I’m in a run club, but I don’t train with them. That’s something that I would like to do more of this year! I love running with a group, but just never get around to it!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: Day 117: Blissful nothings & the girls | Alice runs!
  4. Pingback: Day 152: Ultra Boost, baby! And An Army of Girls! | Alice runs!

Leave a Reply

