Day 140: All the hard work paying off

when-im-done

Life does not always treat us gentle. Even though I am lucky to be able to spend my Easter break back at my family home, there are personal things which made Thursday, April 9th 2015 not the best day ever for me (to say the least).

Our darkest moments are not the ones when everything goes wrong, but the ones when we fail to see the positive things that are still there for us if we only reach out and notice them. Therefore, I tried to do that: to see that not all is bad.

First positive thing: I got woken up by a cat and could stay in bed for a long time, playing with the little black furball.

Second positive thing: It was a warm, sunny spring day – 14°C (that’s 57 for you my imperial system friends) and I decided to wear my fancy new shorts. For the first time ever I did not layer multiple tops and wear long pants to go running. I also wore a brand new long-sleeve top I got from my mother, but no jacket was needed!

Third positive thing: I still had two legs, two eyes and a general health condition suitable for running. And I have friends and kind people around me who care enough to listen to my ramblings about that.

It took me a long time to get myself together, lace up and go. I did a short warm-up because everything felt like forever, and set off. It was supposed to be a fast run – above the comfortable threshold, and that it was for certain. I was huffing and puffing like a broken steam engine and had to slow down two or three times to catch some breath.

My legs felt heavy and weird at some points, like they did not belong to me any more. They hurt. They were red from the wind and running in shorts certainly feels different than long pants. My shoes felt strange. I had to remind myself that I am not a quitter and my mantra became the quote I heard and saw so many times before:

I don’t stop when I’m tired. I stop when I’m done.

I was pushing it hard and I completely did not have the feeling that it was going to be a good run at all. But all the hard work is paying off. I got a 5k PR. I ran fast.

Distance: 5km
Time:       28:16

What are your positive thoughts you use to push back the gloomy mood?

7 comments

  1. chris · April 10, 2015

    C R A Z Y ! There isn’t really much more needed to say. Very well done, very nice. Glad you laced up and went out.

    Seeing positive things in dark moments is very important, stick to that.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. So... · April 10, 2015

    Wow! That’s fantastic.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. BabetaRuns · April 10, 2015

    There is a saying in Czech… “Not every day is a fest”.

    And I always say… if all days (and runs) were perfect then we enjoy/ recognize the amazing days (and runs) :)

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Pingback: Day 143: Healthy relationship with running | Alice runs!
  5. Pingback: Days 158-164: Week 7 of 10k training and April summary | Alice runs!

Leave a Reply

