Day 143: Healthy relationship with running

beach-running

Week 4 or 10k training is complete! That went fast. And it was a significant week for me, as well: on top of getting a 5k PR, I did something I thought was impossible: I skipped a run. On purpose. It took me over 140 days of training to feel comfortable with myself enough to do so. And I am kind of proud that I didn’t feel uncomfortable with it; I can be quite OCD when it comes to plans and ticking-off tasks. Being able to skip a run without feeling guilty about it means my relationship with running is in a healthy place. I know I will be fine and well prepared even if I skip some runs. Now only to stop talking about running all the time.

So, yes, I skipped my Saturday run, which was to jog 5k. Instead, I walked around the garden at my family home and took pictures of spring.

I went directly to today’s fast 7k and it was… really fast (for my standards): 5:50 min/km!
I didn’t try to push too hard, because I remembered how difficult the previous fast run was, and this was an even longer distance. Overall, it felt still difficult, but apart of some heaviness in my legs and my feet being on fire for about 1km, it was fine. I am surprised with myself about the progress I am making. I wish I could give part of it to MRB, who was struggling with his runs the last two weeks.

Distance: 7.3km
Time:       42:35

7 comments

  1. chris · April 13, 2015

    Thanks alot. Once again a very nice run you have here, great.

    Beautiful spring photos, it was about time to get warmer and nicer finally.

    Liked by 1 person

    • aliceruns · April 13, 2015

      Don’t worry, you’ll get in your groove finally!

      Like

  2. agurlontherun · April 13, 2015

    Beautiful pics!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. BabetaRuns · April 13, 2015

    Rock and roll, you! 5:30 is fat for me too! WELL DONE for skipping a run! I exactly know what you mean!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • aliceruns · April 14, 2015

      Thanks! That’s crazy, isn’t it? I would never think to be proud & congratulated on skipping a workout (;

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Pingback: Days 158-164: Week 7 of 10k training and April summary | Alice runs!

Leave a Reply

