Day 181: First post-race run and future plans

The weather is not spoiling us here in the Netherlands at the moment; even if it’s sunny, the temperatures barely resemble what I am used to in May. It’s a month till summer, and it’s difficult to leave your house without a sweater and a jacket, not to mention an umbrella… wpid-better-in-running-shoes.png

It’s been a couple of days since the Amsterdam 10K race. I know I have mentioned it a couple of times before, but I really love my asics training plan, and one additional reason for it (on top of its flexibility and diversity) is that the plan does not end at the race day. It also guides me through the recovery period, and, last Wednesday, I went for my first post-race run. And it was amazing.

One of the few moments when it did not look like autumn…

First of all, I had two sessions of yoga, netting a total whopping 2.5h of yoga (with a break) before I set off for my evening trot. It wasn’t very warm, but it was sunny and running felt so effortless, free and natural.

I am transitioning away from the heel strike, and I can feel that in my Achilles/calves, what means that I am not doing it properly, yet. But I am trying, and I’ll get there. I just need to find a good middle ground for a nice mid-foot strike.

Would be good to have it covered before the Amsterdam Half-Marathon in October! Yup, MRB and I registered for our first half, so from June on a long half-marathon training will start. I plan to stick to the asics plan again. I know June to October is a long time and one could get well prepared with a much shorter training plan, but I don’t mind adding a few extra weeks. Moreover, we also signed up for a local 4 mile run where I live, a week before the half. It might be less impressive distance-wise, but it is one of the biggest running events in the country.

It is a lot of time till October. Will there be some other races in meantime? Maybe, but I will certainly try volunteering at some local events, too.

Distance: 5.2km
Time:       32:56

What are your plans for the races in the near and far future?
Is there a particular race you have on your bucket list?
Do you have advice on transitioning away from heel strike?

4 comments

  1. chris · May 22, 2015

    Nice tree in that picture.

    That is a bigger challenge coming up there for us. In exactly 150 days from today on, we will be on the starting line, after over 700km of training, weeks and months of running, and hopefully without weeks of bad runs this time.

    On the other side, it’s ‘just’ 2x 10k and abit more. In the end, I think the additional weeks in the training plan will only do good.
    Still won’t be an easy one, but I think doable! Go us!

    Liked by 1 person

    • aliceruns · May 22, 2015

      If we keep going, we will be fine! Just don’t give up and keep training even when it’s difficult. That’s what makes you strong!

      Like

      • chris · May 22, 2015

        We have come this far, not planning to give up, we keep going! :)

        Like

  2. Pingback: Day 185: Half a year of running! | Alice runs!

Leave a Reply

