Day 194: Half marathon training has started

f2ca57aa174592fc17f371feb3aa9e67

Sometimes I don’t feel like running at all.
Sometimes I don’t feel like nothing at all.
But then I remember why I do it, my goals and my dreams. And I lace up and go anyway.
Sometimes it feels good afterwards, and I am glad I went for a run.
Sometimes it doesn’t feel like anything at all. But I still do it.

Today I went for a run I didn’t want. During the run I tried to count my blessings: my two healthy legs, my still working eyes and my healthy lungs that allow me to run. And then I got stuck.
It was extremely windy and the alleys in the park were covered in fallen chestnut bloom.

wpid-img_20150602_230934.jpg

Thus my road to the Amsterdam Half marathon has begun. Not every run will be great and not every day will be good.
But I go anyway. As long as I lace up and go, it’s fine.

Distance: 5.4km
Time:       32:09

5 comments

  1. chris · June 3, 2015

    It has officially begun, first 5 / 641 km! There are surely more blessings than those, while many don’t even have that.

    It’s good you went out today, indeed not ever day will be easy and good, there are bad and good times always, but keep lacing up through the bad times, to enjoy the good ones.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. runsaltrun · June 3, 2015

    It sounds like you have very realistic expectations of what is to come and I have no doubt that you’re going to do great with this training. All runs definitely can’t be stellar…the bad ones make us appreciate the good so much more though. :) GOOD LUCK TO YOU!!

    Liked by 2 people

    • aliceruns · June 3, 2015

      Thank you Salt! I’m trying to keep myself uplifted through the blog even if I feel miserable in my life. It’s great to have you and other bloggers who encourage me and witness my work. You’re a great inspiration. Once again, thank you.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. BabetaRuns · June 3, 2015

    I know you know but… If all runs were great then you could never have a great run! :))

    I can’t wait to meet you in Amsterdam!

    Liked by 1 person

    • aliceruns · June 3, 2015

      That’s true. I am sure Amsterdam is going to be fantastic! It cannot be anything less with all the wonderful people around me.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

