Day 240: The morning run that sucked. Utterly.

worstrunever

I did it…

It took me some time and it almost did not happen, but, in the end, today morning I dragged my lazy bum out of the bed and slapped on my running shoes and got out of the door for my first morning run in a long-ish time.

wpid-img_20150718_094142.jpg

But I wasn’t proud of myself. It sucked.

It was supposed to be a 7k progressive run, but already after 400m or so, I knew it will not be a progressive run.
I felt bad. Not any particular pain or discomfort, just a general feeling of meh.

Remembering how first mile is a lie, I decided to push the run anyway. And boy did I have to push, just to keep my feet going. Alright, I thought to myself, maybe I couldn’t run a progressive 7k, but I could run just a comfortable 7k. I tried to think of all the people who can’t run or who can, but won’t, and it helped for a little, until my GI tract woke up around the 4k mark. From that point on, I went steadily slower and eventually had to walk more than I could run.
At 6.2km, I called it quits. My time was really slow and I felt like crying.

I went home feeling defeated, made a quick smoothie and went for a yoga.
Yoga felt OK, but the negative lingering feeling didn’t go away.

Later this afternoon I plan to go swimming, hopefully that can make me feel a little bit better.

6 comments

  1. chris · July 18, 2015

    Yet you still did it, and thats the important point. Proud of you! Bad runs can happen, as you say they are still better than no runs at all. The time wasn’t that slow at all.

    Keep going, my running partner! :)

    Liked by 1 person

  2. So... · July 18, 2015

    Any run is better than no run. These runs are homework runs, not so great but they add the miles which add up some day. Hope your day has cheered up.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. grimmkitten11 · July 18, 2015

    Hope your day gets better! We all have crummy runs but the good thing is there are plenty of great runs to come!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. BabetaRuns · July 30, 2015

    Well done for getting out of bed!!!! I’m proud of you!!

    Like

  5. maplesyrupgirls · August 5, 2015

    ugh i know the feeling! i started running mornings after just two weeks off and ouuuuufffffff is it hard!

    Like

  6. Pingback: How to survive the bad times | Alice runs!

Leave a Reply

