Day 299: I’m ill

An old Jewish proverb says: man plans and God laughs.

Yesterday I decided to stick to yoga and dance and run the next day, aka today. Don’t get me wrong: the yoga felt great after a month’s break and the dance class was awesome.

And then today’s morning happened, when I woke up late for work with a slight fever, major muscle pain, a cough and a running nose. I can pretend to live in denial, but to everyone who can put 2 + 2 together that’s a flu. And a flu with a fever means no running.

To be honest, I have no idea what to do about it. I am going out there in the rain and cold as soon as I am better, but what about the training? Should I try to catch up some of the skipped runs, or just pick the plan up as it goes? There are three races I am looking forward to in October, and I am getting into some serious doubt I will make it through the first one…

How do you deal with running and training when ill?

2 comments

  1. chris · September 15, 2015

    Pick the plan up as it goes. Get healthy soon. We will do it :)

    Like

    • BabetaRuns · September 17, 2015

      Indeed! And trust me, you WILL do great in the half marathon!

      Like

Leave a Reply

