Day 307: First day of Fall

3674549_orig

Rejoice! Fall is here!

I love autumn. It’s my favourite season by far. Summer is great and winter and spring both have wonderful things about them, but nothing beats fall. Maybe part of the reason is that I was born in the fall; nevertheless, there is some magic in the fallen leaves and rainbows and the colours of the foliage. Not to mention that the weather is absolutely perfect for running.

Today, finally, after being ill and generally slacking, I ran. It wasn’t a good run or nothing special, but I made it out of the door (what was hard). The Morat-Fribourg race is in just 10 days and I better get some form back before it happens. Moreover, this race is mostly uphill so I even took the tiny little hill in the park today. It’s going to be a challenge to run 17k uphill; after all, the Netherlands is flat as a pancake and it’s hard to find anything remotely resembling that.

I can’t say I am particularly proud of the run today, but I have to make the best out of the last four weeks before the Amsterdam half marathon. My registration letter has arrived already, so this thing is real. Kinda scary, too.

Distance: 5km
Time:       32:42

Do you like to run in the autumn?
Which is your favourite running season?

14 comments

  1. chris · September 23, 2015

    There is alot to be proud of today! You kicked yourself out of the door after having start problems, you run a 5k still in a nice very time while you are still ill and weakened from the last week. If that’s not success, then I don’t know what it is. Be proud! I am!

    I don’t really appreciate fall this year to be honest, I start to get cold really fast, how will winter be? Arghh!

    Liked by 1 person

    • aliceruns · September 23, 2015

      Thank you. The winter will be fine. You’ll get used to it.

      Like

  2. Maria Mikhaylova · September 23, 2015

    I’ve started trainings for 10k. But I never ever run before (ok – last time was… sth like year 5 at school). And I’m still terrified – what if I’m still too heavy to run? But…
    Aaand it was soo hard today – I’m still ill and walk/run 3.15 km took me 34 damned minutes! Sic! I want to be ok again – being ill is soooo boring!

    Take care Alice! :) Thumbs up!

    Liked by 1 person

    • aliceruns · September 23, 2015

      I am sooooo happy to read this! It’s fantastic that you are running. Don’t worry about speed, it’s not important… I assure you there are slower and heavier runners than you are. Moreover, if you are consistent you will surely get in better shape soon and improve. You rock it girl!

      Like

    • chris · September 23, 2015

      Hi Maria,

      May I introduce myself, I am Chris, a friend of Alicja and her running buddy (refered to MRB on her blog posts). From personal experience I can say that there is no “too heavy” to run. I started my run journey with Alicja (a week later, that still counts, doesn’t it?) in November last year. I started to run while beeing 115kg + (my dad said 120, but I never took my weight before). Yes I looked (and probably still do) like an elephant is running around. So what? Doesn’t matter!
      Now I am down to 95 (and will hopefully go down a bit more). There is no too heavy to start run. I did it, my knees survived it, you can do it too! Have a good pair of shoes, dedicate to it and it will be all fine.

      We both had first a 5k plan, followed by a 10k plan, now followed by a half marathon plan. Starting as couchpatato to a HM, who knows what the future brings? At the begin I could barely run 1km without break, then I remember how 3km was a super big deal for both of us (read here: https://aliceruns.wordpress.com/2014/12/13/day-23-the-challenge-3km/ ).

      There is no rule on what distance or what plan to start. I personally would recommend a 5k first, to achieve a goal pretty quick (which gives you the feeling “yeeeay I can do it!”), since the 10k is a longer way than the 5k. However zero to 10k surely works as well! It’s your decision and if you dedicate to it, it will turn out fine.

      You can totally do it!

      Cheers,
      Chris

      Liked by 3 people

      • Maria Mikhaylova · September 24, 2015

        Hi Chris!
        Nice to meet you (even if just trough internet :))
        Your story is really… supporting! Really!
        That’s sooo great that you guys have each other.

        I decided that 5k is too easy :) It’s not that I’m couch potato – I do swim, I walk daily at least 5km (5-10 km usually) and training at home ;) So not so totally bad I guess.

        I hope at January I will be able to say – “I’ve done it” :)

        Liked by 1 person

      • chris · September 24, 2015

        Hope it helped abit! ;) Oh yea, looks like you’re on a good way. I am sure you can do that and then be proud of it, as we were! :)

        Like

  3. Bien · September 23, 2015

    Well done! Good that you went for a run again, and of course you are going to nail this 17 km! And I love fall too, I think many people do not like it so much, but I really enjoy it, especially when the whether is as it was today, fresh and a little sunny.

    Liked by 1 person

    • aliceruns · September 23, 2015

      Thank you! It is nice to hear I am not the only one to like autumn (:

      Like

  4. Britt · September 23, 2015

    Great job!! I love running in autumn!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. So... · September 24, 2015

    Nice to see you back on your feet. Can’t wait to hear about your training and upcoming races.

    Liked by 1 person

    • aliceruns · September 24, 2015

      Thank you! I hope your ankle is getting better, too.

      Liked by 1 person

      • So... · September 24, 2015

        Yes. The ankle is almost as good as new. :) Happy running

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

