Day 101: Back to running! kind of….

So, how did your weekend pass? Mine wasn’t that great (I haven’t managed to do half of all the things I wanted to), but I did run, and it was blissful. For the first time, I ran outside any plan, any route, any time limits; I just set off and ran through the city and the park in here for as long and as far as my legs took me. I ran to the nearby park and then through and around it before coming back home. That was absolutely fantastic. The setting off to the area I never ran before, without a goal in mind, felt great, and so did coming back to the the familiar parts I ran through so many times before. Not to mention how nice and pleasant was it to run through the park itself!

Day101

Another absolutely great thing was that the park and its surroundings were full of runners! Even though Dutch runners seem to be much more to themselves than what I am used to from the online running communities (only every second of them or so returned my smiles and greetings), I still enjoy seeing other people running.

The thing which was absolutely not great was my knee. I could feel it and in some parts it even hurt a little. It is almost two weeks since the injury and I am getting a bit worried. Bumping it into my couch twice this week certainly did not improve its condition (honestly, why does my couch hate my knee so much?!). I think I should call my doctor again tomorrow to ask for a visit, but I know that he will tell me to stop running, dancing and doing yoga for as long as it doesn’t feel 100% fine… And I can’t afford that, mentally and physically I need my activities. That’s one of the things buggering me right now.

On a completely other note, I have found a pretty cool yoga channel Yoga with Adriene and she was doing this 30 days yoga challenge. I did day 1 today and it felt really good; I think of following through with her videos each day of March. Adriene’s style is quite different from my yoga teacher, but I like her way of explaining things clearly and guiding attention to the right things, what is not always possible in a yoga class with 10+ people.

By the way, have you noticed?

Day 101….

I passed 100 days of running and I haven’t even noticed! Some celebration is in order, I think. I have something in mind already, stay tuned!
Also, I made my decision for the next training plan: it will be a 10k plan from My Asics. I am not starting it yet, due to my knee, but I should soon. I chose it because I was happy with the 5k plan I did and I like the flexibility in this plan, as well as the variety of run types and instructions for them. And in the end, the most important thing is to just keep running.

Distance: 5.44 km
Time:       34:12

How was your weekend?
Did you do anything extraordinary, or did you start any new challenges for March?

7 comments

  1. chris · March 1, 2015

    Very nice and well done. Hope that knee will be fine, please do everything needed to get it healed, even if that means a temporary stop (better than a permanent). Crossing my fingers for you though and hoping all the very best!

    Liked by 1 person

    • aliceruns · March 1, 2015

      I know! But it doesn’t make me feel any better…

      Like

      • chris · March 2, 2015

        I know that, a healthy knee will do though :)

        Like

  2. BabetaRuns · March 1, 2015

    Yay! I do yoga with Adriene at home too! I found her about six months ago and love stretching with her!!
    I will check out this 30 days challenge!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • aliceruns · March 2, 2015

      Oh that’s so cool! The 30 days of yoga seems to be a very cool concept, doesn’t take a lot of time and gives you something different each day.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: Day 103: Running with the Girls | Alice runs!
  4. Pingback: Days 114 & 115: If you can run, you can run a race | Alice runs!

Leave a comment